RSS

Angel Obsession

30 Apr

I’m beginning a series on my blog about the topic of angels. These messages have been a blessing to the people I’m privileged to pastor and I hope they will be for you as well.

My first message is entitled Angel Obsession.

Introduction: I received the following email from somebody. It’s funny to read, yet heartbreaking to think that this middle-aged woman believes what she wrote.

“I just thought I would share the news that my friend that I was watching out for had passed away early this morning very peacefully. Around 10:30 pm the night before I had gotten very tired and she was showing signs that told me she could go soon or perhaps in a day but the nurse urged me to go home and sleep. Before I left I took her hand and touched her face. l got close to her ear and gently said, “You can go play with the angels now…I will miss you but I will someday see you again…I got the call at 2 in the morning. My journey with her is over and I miss her so much. The evening before, she was snoring for quite a while. I told the nurse that for every snore we heard probably equals a person that she had helped in some way. There were a few hours of snoring.”

Hebrews 13:2 says, “Be not forgetful to entertain strangers: for thereby some have entertained angels unawares.” There are four introductory thoughts I learn from this verse before I actually get into my outline.

One: Be hospitable toward others. Open up your home. Remember when Abraham did that in Gen.18 for three men. He provided them shade, food and water and then he realized later that they were angels.

Two: Angels do exist today. Someone may say, “Well I believe in angels but I don’t think they do anything in today’s age.” Well let me ask you, is there demonic activity? Yes. Then why not angels?

Three: It may be possible you have seen an angel, but never realized it. The word unaware means, “you didn’t know you saw an angel.”

Four: Our society is obsessed with angels. People are going crazy over them. Could this be you or do you ignore their reality in today’s age? As Christians, we shouldn’t get so obsessed over angels. We need to judge everything according to the word of God. Allow me to give you four principles about what God has to say about angels.

1. Angels Must Never Replace God

Ex. 20:4 says, “Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image, or any likeness of any thing that is in heaven above.” Now there is nothing wrong to make a picture of an angel, but it’s wrong to wear a necklace in hope that it will give you good luck. The word graven means “vain or empty.” It’s pointless to become so obsessed about wanting to see an angel that it removes our thoughts of Jesus return.

2. Angels Should Never Be Reshaped In Our Own Ideas

What we know about the angels should come from the Bible, not what we think they are.

For example:

Angels always appear in the Bible in the masculine. There are historical accounts that show angels as females.
They are never birds or animals as in folklore.

Angels are created beings. They are not progressed humans. Humans do not evolve into angels.

They do not age or try to earn their wings like Clarence in It’s A Wonderful Life.

3. Angels Must Never Receive Worship

“Let no man beguile you of your reward in a voluntary humility and worshipping of angels.” -Col. 2:18

It is wrong to pray to an angel.

“And I fell at his feet to worship him. And he said unto me, See thou do it not: I am thy fellowservant, and of thy brethren that have the testimony of Jesus: worship God.” -Rev. 19:10

“And I John saw these things, and heard them. And when I had heard and seen, I fell down to worship before the feet of the angel which shewed me these things. Then saith he unto me, See thou do it not: for I am thy fellowservant, and of thy brethren the prophets, and of them which keep the sayings of this book: worship God.” -Rev. 22:8-9

4. Angels Must Be Recognized For Who They Really Are

They are servants of God. What about you? Are you serving the Lord through this local church or are you wanting to be served? Get the right mentality so that way their won’t be any power struggles or contentions in your life.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 30, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
